Women’s Rugby League To Return In Menindee

Updated: June 21, 2018

Photo courtesy of — Paul Brown, Wilcannia News

After the success of the first gala day at Wilcannia last month, the pioneering Outback Rugby League (ORL) women’s round-robins will continue at Menindee on Saturday, June 23.

It is a huge schedule of rugby league at Menindee with juniors, the Musicians Club ORL matches and then the women kicking-off from 4.00pm.

Menindee, Wilcannia and Broken Hill will all field sides again for the round and play against each other.

Each team will play two 20-minute matches (10-minutes halves) on Saturday with the format having to be slightly shortened due to the large volume of football at Burke and Wills Oval.

Wilcannia Warrika Women’s Rugby League side chief organiser and player Benita Tatt was delighted with the success of the first women’s gala day at Burke Oval, Wilcannia on Saturday, May 26.

“It was absolutely awesome,” Tatt said of the Wilcannia matches.

“By 10am, when we run out it was counted as 115 cars already at the oval.

“The support the community gave us was absolutely wonderful.

“The girls played hard and a lot of people were very impressed and couldn’t believe how well we played.”

There was also plenty of media interest via ABC Radio Broken Hill and the Wilcannia News.

At the first round-robin, Wilcannia Warrika defeated Menindee Twisted Sisters and the Broken Hill Bungettes. Menindee’s Twisted Sisters defeated the Bungettes in the other clash.

ORL Chairman Des Rumble was at the matches and said women playing rugby league in the Outback was a great advertisement for the game.

“The matches were well-received,” Rumble said.

“It’s important to offer the chance to play rugby league football to as many people in our ORL communities as we can.”

Women’s rugby league in season 2018 is a pilot project with one round-robin in each community.

While the matches are fiercely contested, the format is non-competitive.

The Broken Hill round-robin is at Lamb Oval on July 7.

It is hoped a Women’s ORL Competition will be formed for future seasons.