Record Number of Teams to Contest 2018 Western Ladies League Tag Challenge

Updated: March 7, 2018

The 2018 Western Ladies League Tag Challenge will kick-off this weekend with a record 22 teams taking place in the pre-season carnival.

Teams from Group 10, Group 11, Woodbridge Cup, New Era Cup and Canberra will compete in the annual event, with matches taking place at Tom Clyburn Oval, Canowindra.

Back-to-Back Western Ladies League Tag Challenge winners Bathurst St Pats are favourites to take out this year’s title, but will face stern opposition from the likes of Eugowra, Parkes Cargo and Orange St Pats.

Tournament Convener Andrew Pull believes this year’s challenge is shaping up as one of the best on record.

“It’s incredibly hard to try and pick a winner from this year’s challenge,” said Pull.

“Bathurst St Pats have been really impressive over the past two years, but then you have sides like Lithgow who have been so close over the last few years and just need a little bit of luck to go their way.

“Cowra have a new coach and some great young players and Canowindra have been training really hard and will want to put in a great performance on their home turf.”

Games will kick-off from 10am on Sunday, with all three fields being utilised throughout the day.


Western Ladies League Tag Challenge Pools 

Pool A: Eugowra Golden Eagles, Parkes Spacemen, Blayney Bears, Lithgow Workies, Peak Hill Roosters,

Pool B: Bathurst St Pats, Condobolin Rams, Tuggeranong Bush Rangers, Orange Barbarians, Mudgee Dragons, Manildra Rhinos

Pool C: Orange Hawks, Cowra Magpies, Trundle Boomers, Grenfell Goannas, Portland Colts

Pool D: Orange Cyms, Dubbo Westside, Kandos Waratahs, Cargo Blue Heelers, Burrangong Bears, Canowindra Tigers