Newcastle Rugby League All Stars sides named

Updated: February 14, 2017
NRL Logo.New

Newcastle Rugby League is excited to officially announce the inaugural Newcastle Rugby League All Stars match to be held Saturday, 4th March at Newcastle’s No 2 Sportsground.

The All Stars game will kick off at 4pm and will be preceded by a Newcastle Rebels U23 trial and Ladies League Tag match.


“A local All Stars game is a concept that has been discussed for a number of years and to kick-off our 2017 season with this event is extremely exciting,” said Newcastle Rugby League CEO Matt Harris.

“I would like to acknowledge the involvement of Adam Bettridge and Ashley Gordon and also thank our clubs and their players whose support for this event is critical to its success.

“Both sides are full of high quality talent therefore I have no doubt that the Newcastle Rugby League All Stars Game will be an entertaining and competitive match-up,”

The Indigenous All Stars and Newcastle All Stars teams have been selected and are listed below:

Newcastle Indigenous All Stars Newcastle All Stars
1. Ryan Walker Western Suburbs 1. Cal Richardson Western Suburbs
2. Matt Simon Macquarie 2. Chris Pyne Cessnock
3. Steve Gordon (C) Western Suburbs 3. Royce Geoffrey Macquarie
4. Brad Tighe Western Suburbs 4. Simon Williams Western Suburbs
5. Josh Charles Lakes United 5. Tyme Dow-Nikau Kurri Kurri
6. Scott Briggs (C) Macquarie 6. Terence Seu Seu Kurri Kurri
7. Jade Porter Western Suburbs 7. Brad Murray Central Newcastle
8. Adam Swadling Macquarie 8. Mark Taufua (C) Western Suburbs
9. Chris Adams Lakes United 9. Chris Hyde Macquarie
10. Mick Campton Kurri Kurri 10. Brendon Simpson South Newcastle
11. Simon Allen Macquarie 11. Marvin Filipo Cessnock
12. Warren Schillings Western Suburbs 12. Peter Mannion Western Suburbs
13. Randal Briggs Macquarie 13. Blake Gallen Macquarie
14. Andy Sumner Macquarie 14. Liam Higgins South Newcastle
15. Isaac Briggs Macquarie 15. Uti Baker Western Suburbs
16. Jamie Ghoulmieh Lakes United 16. Jake Finn Central Newcastle
17. Jacob Gagai Lakes United 17. Dylan Hartin Lakes United
18. Daniel French Kurri Kurri 18. Geordie Connelly Maitland
19. Daniel Nielson South Newcastle 19. Rob Mason Maitland
20. PJ Ellis Maitland 20. Jack Kelly Lakes United