Exciting changes for Group 4 Rugby League in 2017

Updated: February 16, 2017
1st grade GF Oxley V Bears.  Photo: Gareth Gardner 11-09-2016

Group 4 Rugby League will head into the 2017 season in a strong position with new sponsors revealed for all senior competitions and the inaugural Board of Directors announced at a special meeting held in conjunction with all First and Second Division clubs.

Group 4 have formally adopted the new CRL Constitution and have elected an inaugural Board of Directors, to replace the former Management Committee, comprising of Michael Schmeidel (Chairman), Peter Blom (Public Officer), Ray McCoy, Michael Gleeson, Michael Hines, Lindsay Bowen and Barry Pratten.

In a strong show of support for Rugby League in the North West, the Board of Directors were proud to announce Wayne Cadman Insurance and Financial Planning as the new major sponsor of the First Division (Cup) competition for the next three years.

Cadman, who previously played for Manilla and North Tamworth, has a long and proud association with Group 4 Rugby League; having previously sponsored the Gunnedah Bulldogs for 15 years along with being the inaugural sponsor of the Ladies League Tag competition.

With the continued growth and popularity of Group 4’s Ladies League Tag competition, the Board of Directors were also delighted to announce Super Steel Tamworth as the new sponsors for both the First (Cup) and Second Division (Shield) competitions for the next three years also.

In addition to this, Super Steel Tamworth will also sponsor Group 4 Rugby League’s ‘Player of the Year’ awards in the men’s First Division (Cup) competition and both divisions of Ladies League Tag. The awards have been rebranded as the Group 4 Rugby League “Man of Steel” and “Lady of Steel” Player of the Year awards.

Tooheys (Lion Nathan) will also continue corporate sponsorship for the next five years in a tremendous show of support for the local competitions.

Group 4 Rugby League Chairman Michael Schmiedel believes the announcements are a great endorsement for Rugby League in the region.

“It’s fantastic to see local business supporting Group 4 Rugby League and we’re pleased to welcome Wayne Cadman Insurance and Financial Planning and Super Steel Tamworth on board,” said Schmiedel.

“It’s a fresh start with the formation of the Board of Directors and we’re excited about the future.”

The 2017 Group 4 First Division (Cup) competition will include the North Tamworth Bears, Gunnedah Bulldogs, South West Robins, Narrabri Blues, Collegian Warriors and the Wee Waa Panthers, who return to the competition after competing in Second Division.

The competition is scheduled to commence on the weekend of 29/30 April, with the Grand-Final to be played on Sunday, 10 September.

After much discussion, it was announced that the Second Division (Shield) competition would be played in one tier, with some games scheduled to be played on Sundays, and will include Werris Creek, Kootingal, Dungowan, Boggabri, Manilla, Uralla, Bundarra, Barraba, Walcha, Bendemeer and Bingara –  with all clubs to field Men’s Senior and Ladies League Tag sides.

The competition will commence on Saturday, 18 March with the Grand-final scheduled for Saturday, 9 September 2017.

Click here for 2017 Group 4 Rugby League draws