CRL Announces 2019 Player of the Year Award Winners

Updated: October 4, 2019

Country Rugby League has tonight announced Cameron Vazzoler and Takilele Katoa as Country Rugby League Player of the Year and Women’s Representative Player of the Year.

Vazzoler (Illawarra South Coast Dragons) and Katoa (Griffiths Waratahs) were in attendance to receive the CRL’s top honours, at the Country Rugby League Player of the Year dinner held at the Ivy, Sydney with over 350 Rugby League officials, volunteers and players in attendance.

Vazzoler, who received his award for his dominant performances for the victorious Illawarra South Coast Dragons Under-23’s Country Championship side, will now represent the Country Under-23’s Representative Team in their matches against North Island Championship Team and the Canterbury Bulls when they tour New Zealand next week.

Current NRLW St George Illawarra Dragons player Katoa received the Women’s Representative Player of the Year award for her outstanding performances for the NSW Country team at the inaugural Women’s National Championships.

The North Tamworth Bears received the prestigious Clayton Cup for their dominant season in Group 4, where they claimed their sixth straight premiership title with a 40-4 victory over Kootingal-Moonbi.

Warilla player Tyrone Roberts received the Tom Nelson Medal for his impressive performances for the Illawarra South Coast Dragons in the Laurie Daley Cup, while Cudgen Hornet half Thomas Weaver received the Ron Lanesbury Medal for his notable performances for the Northern Rivers Titans in the Andrew Johns Cup.

Guests included NRL CEO Todd Greenberg, ARLC Commissioner Wayne Pearce OAM, NSWRL Chairman George Peponis and CEO David Trodden and QRL Chairman Bruce Hatcher.

CRL Chairman John Anderson said “It has been a incredible season for Country Rugby League, with many things to celebrate including fantastic achievements by players, teams, clubs, communities and volunteers both on and off the field.”


2019 CRL Player of the Year Award Winners

Country Rugby League Player of the Year – Cameron Vazzoler (Kiama / Illawarra South Coast Dragons)

Women’s Representative Player of the Year – Takilele Katoa (Griffiths Waratahs / NSW Country)

Tom Nelson Medal (Laurie Daley Cup) – Tyrone Roberts (Warilla / Illawarra South Coast Dragons)

Ron Lanesbury Medal (Andrew Johns Cup) – Thomas Weaver (Cudgen / Northern Rivers Titans)

2019 Clayton Cup – North Tamworth Bears (Group 4 Rugby League)