AAMI Country Players of the Year Announced

Updated: October 4, 2013
CRLPoY 2013 winners Aiden Tolman and Riley Brown (2)

Country Rugby League selectors have been unable to split the best players in Regional NSW, naming Illawarra’s Rory O’Brien and Newcastle’s Riley Brown as joint winners of the 2013 AAMI Country Rugby League Player of the Year.

Also named on the night, Bulldog’s Aiden Tolman is the 2013 VB Country Origin Player of the Year, for his outstanding performance for Country in Coffs Harbour in April.

Collegians Rory O’Brien and Cessnock’s Riley Brown received the CRL’s top honor, at the AAMI Country Rugby League Player of the Year dinner held at Doltone House Hyde Park on Friday 4th October, with over 350 Rugby League officials, volunteers and players in attendance.

While O’Brien was unable to attend due to family commitments, Riley Brown – who played over 70 NRL First Grade games for the Newcastle Knights, Sydney Roosters and Gold Coast Titans – was excited to accept his trophy and thanked the Country Rugby League for their support.

O’Brien and Brown will travel with the Country Firsts team on a ground breaking tour of South Africa, departing Sydney on October 8th.

Earlier in the evening, Canterbury Bulldogs Aiden Tolman was named the VB Country Origin Player of the Year. Tolman was rewarded for his efforts both on and off the field in Country’s win over City in Coffs Harbour in April.

Tolman, who was in attendance to accept his award, and spoke of how proud he was to represent Regional NSW, and his hometown on the State’s North Coast. He was supported by 2013 Country Origin and Bulldogs captain Michael Ennis, and Country coach Trent Barrett who were also in attendance.

Both trophies were awarded at the annual CRL Player of the Year Dinner, which this year was held at the Doltone House Hyde Park on Friday evening, 4th October 2013. The event was attended by over 350 guests from all levels of politics and Rugby League camps.

Guests included The Hon Barry O’Farrell, Premier NSW, The Hon. Linda Burney MP, and Thomas George MP – as well as ARLC Chairman John Grant and Commissioner Wayne Pearce, NRL CEO Dave Smith and representatives of the NRL, NSWRL Board members including NSWRL CEO Dave Trodden. From the CRL, CEO Terry Quinn, President Jock Colley and the CRL Executive as well as Management Committee members, volunteers and players.

The full list of award winners is:
VB Country Origin Player of the Year: Aiden Tolman (Canterbury Bulldogs)
AAMI Country Player of the Year: Joint Winners
Rory O’Brien (Collegians, Illawarra)
Riley Brown (Cessnock, Newcastle)