2018 Holiday Inn CRL Community Award Winners Announced

Updated: August 11, 2018
2018 Holiday Inn CRL Volunteer Awards (8)

Max and Lorna Dawes (Coffs Harbour Rugby League Club), Jess Skinner (Western Region) and Ashford Junior Rugby League Club have been named CRL’s Volunteers and Club of the Year for the 2018 season.

The Dawes’ (Volunteer of the Year) and Skinner (Women In League Achievement Award) were among a host of regional representatives that attended the Holiday Inn CRL Community Awards dinner at the Holiday Inn, Potts Point on Saturday night and received their awards from Country Rugby League Chairman John Anderson.

Max and Lorna Dawes took out the Volunteer of the Year Award for their continued service to the game over the past 40 years. The Dawes’ are Life Members of the Coffs Harbour Rugby League Club, who began their involvement as committee members in 1978 when their sons began playing for the club. Max and Lorna have since gone on to hold various positions including Senior League President, Secretary, Treasurer, General Committee Member, Ground Announcer, Ground Licensee and Canteen Coordinator; all whilst managing the canteen on a weekly basis – a job which they still hold to this day.

Max and Lorna continue to coordinate social functions and annual fundraisers to provide a significant income stream which enables the club to consistently upgrade its facilities.

Skinner received the Women In League Achievement Award for her numerous services to the Western Region. In an amazing show of dedication to Women’s Rugby League, Jess is currently the Coach of the Western Rams Women’s Tackle and Ladies League Tag Representative sides.

Jess also coaches the Far West Academy League Tag team and was a pioneer in implementing the inaugural League Tag Academy Program, developing female youth across remote and rural communities in the Barwon Darling, Outback and Castlereagh Leagues.

Immersing herself in football – between her coaching commitments, it is not uncommon for Jess to be at a training session, game or function six days a week. Through Jess’ hard work, six players from the Western region gained selection in the NSW Southern Country side for the opportunity to push for selection for the NSW Country side.

Ashford Junior Rugby League Club claimed the title of CRL Club of the Year after having formed in 2015 to cater for junior players living in their small community.

With a total population of less than 1000, the Ashford club has gone from having one team to now having 95 active participants involved in both tackle and League Tag formats.

Husband and wife duo Craig and Kat Tulczyn have been instrumental in working with local government organisations to provide new dressing rooms and a canteen for the club, whilst creating a culture of participation in a club run by the people, for the people.

The club are progressive and a testament to the adage that with a positive, determined approach – traditional barriers can be overcome, allowing smaller communities to come together for the good of the game.

CRL Chairman John Anderson praised the work of not only the nominees on the night, but the thousands of Country Rugby League volunteers across the state.

“The Holiday Inn CRL Community Awards are a great opportunity for us to thanks some of the amazing volunteers who dedicate their time to Rugby League across Regional NSW,” said Anderson.

“You cannot put a value on the work volunteers do because they are truly priceless to their local communities.

“Being nominated as an outstanding contributor in your region is a special achievement and all of our nominees can be extremely proud of their efforts.”

All winners will progress to the 2018 NRL Community Awards.

Click here to read all Volunteer and Club of the Year nominee biographies