2017 Volunteer and Club of the Year Winners

Updated: August 5, 2017
I love you morethan there are starsin the sky.

Jeanette Hillier (Glen Innes Magpies), Susan Moodie (Western Suburbs Newcastle) and the Cabonne United Roos Junior Rugby League have been named CRL’s Volunteers and Club of the Year for the 2017 season.

Hillier (Volunteer of the Year) and Moodie (Women In League Achievement Award) were two of six regional representatives to attend the Volunteer and Club of the Year gala dinner at the Holiday Inn, Potts Point on Saturday night and received their awards from Country Rugby League Chairman John Anderson.

Hillier took out the Volunteer of the Year Award for her continued service to the game over the past 30 years. In this time Jeanette has held various positions in administration, coaching and refereeing whilst continuously serving as a Sports Trainer since 1992.

Jeanette is the current President of Group 19 Junior Rugby League and successfully combines this role with her position as Referees Coordinator for Glen Innes Junior Rugby League.

Jeanette was named Club Person of the Year for Barraba Rugby League club in 1992-1993 and is a recipient of the Glen Innes Sports Council Service to Sports Award in 2016.

Jeanette has also refereed Group 19 JRL Grand Finals and was a touch judge for the Group 19 A-Grade Men’s Grand Final in 2015.

Moodie received the Women In League Achievement Award for her services to the Western Suburbs Newcastle club in various roles including Team Manager, Registrar and her current role as Club Secretary over the past 11 years.

Since assuming an Executive position, Susan has developed an ability to look at what is best for the game overall as opposed to being only focussed on her own club. Susan is a strong and vocal supporter of the rules governing player movement and subsequent talent equalisation and is highly respected across the group for her strong stance on these issues.

The Cabonne United Roos Junior Rugby League claimed the title of ‘CRL Club of the Year’ after having formed in 2007 to cater for junior players living in small towns and villages in Molong, Manildra, Cumnock, Yeoval and Cudal to enjoy a sport they love without having to travel to larger regional centres.

Over the past decade the club has evolved to become a highly sustainable junior base with a unique structure that maximises participation from the various small communities in its catchment area.  

The club consistently fields all age groups in Lachlan District Junior League from Under-7’s to Under-16’s along with Under-12’s and 16’s Ladies League Tag. 

The club are progressive and a testament to the adage that with a positive, determined approach – traditional barriers can be overcome, allowing smaller communities to work together for the good of the game.

CRL Chairman John Anderson praised the work of not only the nominees on the night, but the thousands of Country Rugby League volunteer’s across the state.

“Volunteers are the heart and soul of Country Rugby League,” said Anderson.

“We wouldn’t have a game without them and I cannot thank them enough for their efforts on a week-to-week basis right across Regional NSW in all towns big and small.

“Being nominated as an outstanding contributor in your region is a special achievement and our nominees can all be extremely proud of their efforts.”

All winners will progress to the 2017 NRL Community Awards.

Click here to read all Volunteer and Club of the Year nominee biographies